A verifiable, time-constrained, frictionless mechanism for Proof of Humanity renewals

A verifiable time-constrained, frictionless mechanism for Proof of Humanity renewals

NOTE 1: I am not an expert in blockchain technology, nor in cryptographic security. All the ideas described on this post are from what I have been learning from a Senior Programmer perspective. Feel free to double check and send any corrections that might need fixing.

NOTE 2: I will refer by Human(s) as the submitter of the evidence (whether its in the registration or the renewal process)

A PERSONAL OPINION:

Proof of Humanity is slowly proving to be the solution for a sybil-resistant Identity protocol. I also believe that it solves the task that most governments fail of giving an Identity, which is a human right.

One task that has been tabled for months as the project moved forward, is the mechanism for renewing profiles.

There is yet not a well defined framework about how this process should be. On this post I intend to propose such mechanism to achieve this in a frictionless UX for Humans and Curators.

The proposal includes definitions on what counts as a valid renewal submission for Curators and Jurors, and some UI changes to align with this guidelines.

Before diving into the proposal, we need to better understand what we are trying to solve, and there are some ongoing discussions around several topics that need to be taken into consideration for a good mechanism; some are related to the Humans, some on the Curators/Challengers but in the end, it’s all about user experience on both ends.

What makes a good renewal process?

After several discussions with the community, some of the topics that need to be taken into consideration for achieving consensus on this matter are the following:

1. The human on the renewal video should be the same as the one on the registration video